The Right Way to End a Vacation

Last Friday was the last official day of my vacation. It was bittersweet to know that once the weekend passed, I’d be back at work. Fortunately, last Friday turned out to be a remarkable day.

My morning began like the rest of my vacation mornings: I woke up around 10 AM (because I could), sort of ate some food, read a couple of articles on Cracked.com (why bother with “news”?), caught up on a show from Thursday night, and got an email with the most exciting news I’ve received in a while.

I knew that Friday was the day WordPress was going to post their favorite entries in the Weekly Writing Challenge, which I had entered, believing I could succeed in being Freshly Pressed, but doubting I would. Then I read an email congratulating me and telling me that my post was live on the Freshly Pressed page. It was surreal.

Seeing my post on the front page was more of a thrill than being able to cut all the lines at Disneyworld. The response I received as a result was overwhelming. I more than doubled my followers, got more likes on the post than I’d had in total on my blog, some wonderful and thoughtful comments, and I even got more Twitter followers (which puts me one step closer to being a pseudo-celebrity). Not to mention I nearly doubled my total views of Reheated Coffee within the day.

I’d like to say thank you for reading, for responding, and for appreciating my writing. It was a small validation that has brought me enormous joy; it’s been a push to keep me motivated and keep me writing. I look forward to sharing more stories like the one about my sister’s pig earrings, but I need to dig through my old stuff for inspiration first.

Apart from being Freshly Pressed, Friday signified the end of my two-and-a-half week vacation. I went back to work this week full force, working ten-or-more hour days, which is much more than my usual workload. I’m a nanny (mostly), and I typically start work between noon and two and work until eight or nine in the evening. Lately, I’ve started by nine in the morning and finished only slightly earlier than usual. It’s been a bit rough, but I’m adjusting.

In my free time on vacation I was able to write, watch terrible TV shows, explore New York City, meet friends in the hours that most people get off of work, drink any night of the week without concern for the consequences, and eat as many donuts as I wanted (I’d do that anyway, though).

I even got to spend time discovering some little-known NYC gems like this nonsensically named restaurant (at least, I assume it’s a restaurant).

Now, my time belongs to someone else–and donuts are less frequent. Besides the lack of donuts, though, there have been a number of pros to my new schedule, as well as a few more cons.

Pro: Getting up early

I like waking up and having a cup of coffee at a time when it is intended to be enjoyed. It also makes me feel more productive to wake up a reasonable time, regardless of what I do with that time.

Con: Getting up early

Waking up before nine also requires incredible will power and a reasonable bed time. I’m not great with either.

Pro: Feeling like a real adult

Going to work between eight and 10 AM makes me feel as though I’m almost a real grown-up. I get to walk through the streets with other people who have jobs–people who work in offices and things.

Con: Rush hour trains

Going to work with other people who have jobs means I have to stand on a crowded train and plan extra time to wait in line for Starbucks.

Pro: Money

Yeah. It’s pretty important. You realize this more the longer you’re on vacation.

Con: Exhaustion

I work with children, which makes my day feel longer and tests my patience 876 times more than anything else in the history of the world.

I’ve contemplated the benefits of a more traditional nine-to-five job and it always seems to come to a draw. On one hand, I have to get up early, but on the other, I’ll be done in time to do things most people do after work. I detest rush hour, but love happy hour. A salary would be nice because timesheets are the bane of my existence, but I also enjoy being paid for the work I actually do. I’d like to be able to sit in an air-conditioned room, sipping coffee in the morning as I ease into my day. But I also enjoy not sitting in an office all day, but I wish I had co-workers my own age. I wish I could go out and grab lunch; then again, I like getting free food.

The only solution I see is to make a bunch of money while only going to the office once or twice a week. So I should just start my own highly successful company, right? Reheated Coffee, Inc.: provider of ambiguous services everywhere.

Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “The Right Way to End a Vacation

  1. well done on the freshly pressed, hope to join you there some day but i’m still very new to this . Love the fact that that you know children can test patience 876 times more than anything else it makes it sound like you have a list!

Leave a Reply

